Home

Hey y’all!

I’ve revved up my fitness plan a bit for the summer. I love using this blog as home base for my own accountability, so here are the details (I’ve been doing this since the beginning of June):

Food

My New Year’s Derby Resolutions had a lot to do with changing the way I eat, and I’ve actually been doing pretty good at incorporating clean eating into my lifestyle as opposed to crash dieting. This summer, I’m kicking it up a notch and plan on slowly getting rid of the low amount of carbs I do eat. I do most of my shopping at Trader Joe’s because you can buy organic on the low.

I also keep a pretty active Clean Eating board on Pinterest because I’m a fucking maniacal housewife on speed.

If you have any tips, suggestions, advice or links, lemme know!

My food is scheduled out pretty neatly since I work a 9-5 and spend most of my days behind a desk. I meal prep on Sundays, and eat every 2-3 hours.

Right After Waking Up: Hot water + lemon, whole boiled egg w/ sea salt + pepper

Breakfast: Green tea + lemon + honey; banana; and a Nutrigrain bar (I’ll add almonds and dried fruit if I’m feeling extra hungry)

Snack #1: Water + lemon; 1/2 cup of fruit salad (watermelon, honey dew melon, blackberries, pineapple, strawberries, and grapes)

Heavy Lunch: Green tea + lemon; chicken, salmon or tilapia; green beans; mixed veggies + sweet potato (I bake sliced zucchini, sweet potatoes, carrots, onions, tomatoes, whole garlic cloves and a little bit of olive oil)

– or-

Light Lunch: Green tea + lemon + honey; avocado, tomato and mozzarella salad w/ basil

Snack #2: Water + lemon; 1/2 cup of fruit salad; baked sweet potato chips if I feel like I deserve a treat.

Snack #3: I commute about an hour everyday to and from work, so I’ll have a Lara bar to keep me from getting all hangry while I wait for dinner.

Dinner: Lean protein or baked fish; leafy greens; baked sweet potato. If I’ve been eating heavy all day, I’ll go for a salad w/ chicken and light dressing.

Exercise

Cardio

Pretty straightforward and simple: I try to run every morning, which means I sometimes end up running every other day. Small victories.

When I’m being a stubborn brat who refuses to wake up until 7am (oh, the joys of commuting), I do 1.5 miles at 8-9 minute mile pace. Basically, a short + dirty power run.

When I run like a fucking derby goddess, I try to do at least 3 miles on the weekdays and up to 6 miles on Saturdays, and I alternate between sprinting and jogging. Sometimes I take a little rest and do a lot of squats and lunges.

Weight-Lifting

My new goal is to learn how to hit the weights, cuz real bitches be lifting. More on that in a later blog post.

Yoga

So I finally decided, after years of dropping in on classes just for shits and giggles, to enroll as a yoga student at Georgetown Yoga, near my job. I’m a little wary of the whole ‘yoga-scene,’ but I’m excited to put my love of meditation to physical use. I’ve heard some derby girls talk about the benefits of yoga, so this should be interesting.

I start next week.

Twerking

Yeah, you read that right.

I twerk ALL THE TIME. Usually I twerk at home every morning while getting ready for work (seriously), but I’ve also started dropping in for like 10 bucks at this twerking class. They make us wear stripper heels and it really works your core.

#TWERKTEAM.

Anyway…

Do you know of any online derby fitness communities? Cuz I wanna join!

Do you know of any exercises that are awesome for derby folks? Cuz I wanna do ’em!

Do you have a really cool clean eating recipe? Cuz I would prob eat it.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Off-Season Food + Exercise Plan

  1. Pingback: Summer Food & Fitness Plan Update |

Leave a Reply

