Home

Hey y’all! I know it’s been a while since I last posted, but these past couple of weeks have been super busy. I don’t talk about my private life on here a whole lot (cuz it’s all about the derby!!! wooo!), but sometimes life’s other priorities have to take precedence. I’ve been getting my shit together, to say the least, when it comes to work, family, friends, other hobbies, etc. Sometimes you gotta take a couple of days to just get your life, you know?

image

Anyway, I’m always tempted to talk about other stuff on here, but I like to keep it focused. So, on to the derby…

Champs was awesome. My team let the newbs jam a lot, and it was a lot different from jamming during scrimmages. I didn’t get tired nearly as fast, but I got hit with the haze a couple of times.

I define “the haze” as that weird numb feeling I *still* get right when the whistle blows to start the jam. It’s like I get into some robotic, fight-or-flight mode. I know what’s happening but I’m just reacting to everything around me and not really thinking enough. When I saw some photos from the bout, I could almost see it in my eyes:

Jamming

Photo by Pablo Raw Photography

So yeah. That’s not good. Gotta cut that out.

This is where my awesome team comes in. They were yelling for me, pushing, making holes, communicating shit – it was just beautiful. I’d like to be focused while listening to my teammates and trusting my instincts. Because I’m reacting while in the haze, I don’t move fast enough. I was proud of myself for breaking out of the pack a couple of times, but I  never actually scored any points.

We didn’t win, but it didn’t matter. My team, the Demoncats (rawr, muthafuckas), has come a long way together, and we fight hard. After getting to know everyone this season, I’m just lucky these awesome women chose me to play this bad-ass sport with them. (Seriously… these are some of the most awesome women I’ve ever been privileged to meet. And hit.) Tear – I love my derby fam. Moving on…

After the game, one of our coaches told me good job. I was all “yeah but blah blah blah” – basically saying I didn’t do as well as I’d hoped and talking myself into a ‘I-need-a-drink-because-anxiety’ frenzy. Then I noticed everyone was looking at me and I didn’t know why, and then someone was like “Hey, they called your name” and then I got this:

 MVJ

Most Valuable Jammer, it says. This was pretty awesome, and I felt really encouraged to keep working harder and pushing myself to be great at this sport, to the best of my ability. I’m glad they saw my potential, even when I feel like shit or like I let myself down.

As part of the prize, I got the cutest fucking jar o’ candy EVER from the Cherry Blossom Bombshells and a gift card to Marlowe Ink Tattoo. I don’t know what I’m gonna get yet – every tattoo I’ve ever gotten has been on a whim, so this time I’m gonna think long and hard about it.

I stayed and watched the championship bout between the Majority Whips and Scare Force One . Both teams played really well, and it was definitely a nail-biter. SF1 ended up taking home the trophy!

So, now that my first season is over, what next? Glad you asked.

This shit right here:

So. Effing. Excited.

I just decided to go this morning. Hell yeah! If you’re going, leave a comment or something!

Oh! And if you want to try out for DC Rollergirls – here’s your chance: http://www.dcrollergirls.com/ready-dc-rollergirl-time-tryouts/

2 thoughts on “Champs Recap

Leave a Reply

