Home

My love for roller derby wasn’t immediately a physical thing – there were years of mild fandom before I ever even strapped on a pair of rental skates. It wasn’t until last year that it dawned on me that I could do this too, and that’s when I first started looking at derby videos seriously.

Now that I’m in waist-deep (no turning back now), I thank myself for actually taking the time to get to know and love the sport before trying to join a league. All those months of just watching videos – a bit obsessively, actually – pays off when I’m trying to learn new moves and shit like that. So I thought I’d take a moment and spotlight some of my favorite derby videos. This is by far not an exhaustive list and I’m constantly finding new stuff (and if you want to take a peek into my random ass brain, follow my Tumblr here – I only reblog the derby stuff).

First up, the 2011 Team USA Roller Derby World Cup Tryouts in Denver. These girls are so bad-ass and they make it look effortless. Look at all these blocking moves:

This video is one I watch all the time to help me with my bummy ass crossovers. This lady is like the Bill Nye of rollergirls… fun and informative. She has the ability to make something that is hard for a lot of newbies like myself into a fun and manageable lesson:

This hot Bettie Page-esque rollergirl breaks down the plow stop and makes it look easy. Just like crossovers, plow stops can sometimes be the bane of a newbie’s derby existence:

This chick can do it all. I love watching her because she looks so natural, and it looks fun and breezy even though she’s doing tough stuff. She even makes falling look fun:

A really great derby documentary:

And, last but not least, some cool vids about my favorite roller derby league in the world, the DC Rollergirls. Oldies but goodies:

Leave a Reply

