Home

8/15 Update: During my first Level 2 session, folks were saying “check” instead of hit, and apparently they have something called rules that say it’s so not cool to hit someone with your forearms. So I changed hit to check to reflect that fact. Thanks for reading!

As I was falling asleep last night, I – for the first time ever – got the urge to hit shoulder/hip check a girl.

This is interesting to note because up until now, blocking and hitting checking hasn’t even been on my radar. And then when it really hit me (no pun intended) that I would have to hit others (with my shoulders and hips), and take hits (from other people’s shoulders and hips), I was honestly scared as hell.

I went to one rec league practice where blocking and checking was introduced. As we skated slowly around the rink, myself and a partner (someone I’ve been practicing with for months… she’s awesome) took turns hitting each other. I got so frustrated because I wasn’t hitting her right… I was barely moving her at all. She would just kinda giggle when I tried to shoulder check her. This is when the doubt set in about whether I will make a good rollergirl or not. I know I love to skate, but the violence is such a big part of derby – it’s all about the hits!

So yeah… up until last night I was dreading Level 2 of boot camp, which is where all this shit comes into play. I don’t even know if I made it yet, but I just knew that I wasn’t going to enjoy it if I did.

And then, all of a sudden, as I’m drifting off to sleep, I go into this waking dream about hitting a chick and skating away. I saw myself skating really low to the ground and then popping up and hitting her as I breezed past, hair blowing in the wind, a smile on my face. It felt so good, so sneaky, so bitchy and fun, that I actually started smiling in real life.

I don’t know, dudes… hitting girls may be a lot of fun. Now, I can’t wait to try it.

I also don’t know what brought on this change of heart. Maybe it’s because my skills are getting better. It probably has a lot to do with how, looking back with a clear head, I had a lot of fucking fun speeding around the rink during time trials, skating past bitches. I still remember what it felt like to accidentally smack someone as I passed them… kind of an “oh, shit! i’m so sorry!” feeling coupled with a mischievous “If you’re mad, catch me if you can!” kinda feeling.

I want to feel it again… here’s hoping I made it to Level 2.

Leave a Reply

